One Roof

A place to keep up with our happenings!

First Night September 3, 2007

Filed under: Blog — oneroof @ 6:52 am

Well, once Tian woke up, she was still not too happy to be with us, but we opened up the cookie pack she had been clinging to (the orphanage workers had given it to her, and she held onto it for dear life)and started to munch on those. Soon though, Bo worked his charm! He had gotten a couple quick giggles out of her at the Civil Affairs Office, but they quickly faded, but now, back at the room, he got her full out laughing and smiling that first night. She is okay with me holding her, but she doesn’t want to look me in the face. Women are probably all she’s ever known, and I sure don’t look like any of the women she is used to! We played with the stacking cups, looked at photos, played ball, looked out the window (in the insane traffic below our hotel window, a man on a bike got hit~Yikes!)

Tian got upset when I tried to put her in the crib, and it being her first night, I sure didn’t have the heart to just put her down, so we laid down on the bed together. After she fell asleep, I put her in her crib. She woke up, and started to fuss, so I just sat down beside it and rubbed her arm and her face. After a while, she pushed my arm away, so I just sat and watched her. She kept opening her eyes and looking, as if to see if I were still there. She fell asleep just a few minutes later.

Tian slept beautifully, and I got a great night’s rest, as well, for the first time in I don’t know how long. I did wake up at 4 with a poem (or whatever you want to call it) in my head that just wouldn’t leave me alone, so I finally got up and wrote it out. (Believe me, I’m no writer! Bo is the author…but sometimes I have words that won’t quit running through my head till they get put down on paper.) If you promise not to critique, I’ll share it.

My Tian
My sweet
For today, I am sorry.

That we don’t look like the beautiful faces you know so well.
That we don’t know everything that has brought a smile to your sweet face up until now.
That we don’t speak with a lovely voice that sounds like music.

But tomorrow, and the rest of your life, I rejoice.

Because we will be the faces that light up with a smile whenever we see you, and look on you with pride as you learn and grow into the girl, the woman you are destined to become.
Because we will come to know you, and you will know us. We will discover what makes you smile and laugh, and you are now part of a family that is full of happiness.
Because we will be the voices that tell you each day how precious you are, how you were known by God before the foundation of the earth, and that He knew, in His divine providence, that although the circumstances that led you to us would be hard, they would also bring Him glory.

So I rejoice.
My sweet.
My Tian.

 

7 Responses to “First Night”

  1. Angie Says:

    Critique? Are you kidding? I’m sobbing.

    I had the same thing happen to me, but it wasn’t poems, it was eloquent emails that I wrote in my head all night long and I didn’t have a laptop with me to write them out and get them out of my head. That made me crazy. I vowed to never go to China without a laptop again.

  2. Angie Says:

    Oh yeah …….. where are some pictures??????????

  3. Shannon (Angie's friend) Says:

    That was so sweet. The poem made me cry. Blessings, Shannon

  4. Janet T. Says:

    NO CRITIQUE here! THAT WAS BEAUTIFUL!!! So heart felt and sweet!!!!

  5. Kelli Says:

    We are about to start school here & after reading your beautiful poem I decided to read this blog out loud to the children before school and here’s what they said, Konner responded first with “I hope that they come over & have a play day with us and hang over and stuff” and Sierra said for me to tell yall “I hope you have a great time with your new baby” & now we are fixing to say a prayer for you guys & I want to say that I am very grateful to have been able to read & journey with you guys through such a beautiful real-life story being played out right before our eyes! I feel blessed just by being able to read such beautiful words, thank you for sharing them Dana! God bless you guys each & every day!!!!!!!!!

  6. Donna Says:

    Beautiful, Dana!!!!! Definitely to be included in her lifebook, for sure.

  7. Theresa Says:

    What a BEAUTIFUL and heartfelt poem. It brought tears to my eyes. She will one day love and appreciate that poem.


Leave a Reply

